Software Engineering CS373 Blog #7?

Daniel Gao
2 min readOct 18, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week I was busy working on the neural networks and software engineering assignments. For IDB2, I wrote a script that loaded all the data we needed into our backend database, as well as code to query from that database when our API is called. I also had two midterms, one for this class and one for Artificial Intelligence. Apart from that, I had lunch with a friend from high school and spent time with family.

What’s in your way?

Right now, my neural networks assignment is taking way more time than I thought it would, as I am finding it quite hard to tune my model correctly. Hopefully, I can get it finished by tonight so that I can direct my attention back to the software engineering assignment.

What will you do next week?

Next week I will work on the SWE project and start my Artificial Intelligence project as well. Hopefully next week I will be able to find more time to exercise too, as I haven’t been able to find the time recently.

If you read it, what did you think of The Liskov Substitution Principle?

The paper was a bit confusing, as it seemed really similar to the open-closed principle reading. However, I do understand the concept and now see some situations where it might manifest itself so that was pretty helpful.

What was your experience of Test #1? (this question will vary, week to week)

Test 1 was a little rough, and I was a bit frustrated when Professor Downing said we couldn’t use the default parameter on that one question because I had already submitted the test by then and wasn’t sure if I could submit again.

What made you happy this week?

I was able to grab lunch with one of my friends from high school on Friday, and it was great to be able to catch up after so long.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to not procrastinate because I’m getting shrek’d right now by these projects.

--

--